Denmark Team Squad For 2020 Euro

The Denmark Euro 2020 squad of 23 players is set to be finalised at least 10 days before the tournament begins.

The Denmark Euro 2020 squad has been revealed, and includes a number of familiar faces for English football fans.

Leicester’s Kasper Schmeichel makes the team, as does Southampton’s Jannik Vestergaard and Chelsea’s Andreas Christensen in defence, Tottenham’s Pierre-Emile Hojbjerg, plus Brentford pair Christian Norgaard and Mathias Jensen in midfield and former Tottenham playmaker Christian Eriksen.

Also Read : 2021 Euro Group Info and Fixtures of Matches

Denmark Squad

Goalkeepers: Kasper Schmeichel (Leicester), Jonas Lössl (Midtjylland), Frederik Rønnow (Schalke)

Defenders: Jens Stryger Larsen (Udinese), Simon Kjær (AC Milan), Andreas Christensen (Chelsea), Joachim Andersen (Fulham), Daniel Wass (Valencia), Mathias Jørgensen (Copenhagen), Joakim Mæhle (Atalanta), Jannik Vestergaard (Southampton), Nicolai Boilesen (Copenhagen)

Midfielders: Mathias Jensen (Brentford), Christian Nørgaard (Brentford), Pierre-Emile Højbjerg (Tottenham), Thomas Delaney (Dortmund), Anders Christiansen (Malmö), Christian Eriksen (Inter Milan), Mikkel Damsgaard (Sampdoria), Robert Skov (Hoffenheim)

Forwards: Martin Braithwaite (Barcelona), Andreas Cornelius (Parma), Andreas Skov Olsen (Bologna), Yussuf Poulsen (Leipzig), Kasper Dolberg (Nice), Jonas Wind (Copenhagen)

Also See : Czech Republic Team Squad

Denmark Past Euro Records

Denmark had to wait 20 years between their first and second appearances in the Euros, from 1964 to 1984. After finishing fourth out of four teams in their inaugural campaign, Denmark reached the semi-finals in 1984. 

A group stage exit followed in 1988, before a tremendous campaign in 1992 ended in them winning the Euros in Sweden, beating the unified Germany 2-0 in the final.

Understandably, they haven’t enjoyed the same success since. Group stage exits in 1996, 2000 and 2012 are broken up with tournaments they didn’t even qualify for, in 2008 and 2016. However, they managed to reach the quarter-finals in 2004, a realistic aim for this campaign.